User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-24-2008, 05:44 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Differences between Van an Reefer driving?

Can you guys give me some details on the good an bad of both, i'm thinking of going to a school that drives mostly reefers. Would it be best to start out driving a regular trailer or is the difference not that big of a deal. With a reefer do you have to get your load to dock sooner, also what about unloading your product, would you unload a reefer yourself more so then most vans. Sorry guys if i'm asking dumb question i'm really new to all of this, it seems like something I would really like so i'm going to give it a try.
Old 06-24-2008, 06:23 AM
Senior Board Member

As far as the actual pulling goes there is no difference beyond having to check your trailer temp once in a while a put fuel in the refer tank.

With refers many deliveries tend to be in the wee hours of the morning.

With vans there are fewer driver unloads, but lumpers (people you can hire to do the unloading) are more common at refriderated/food warehouses so in the end the total amount of actual driver unloads tend to even out.

The biggest advantage to pulling a refer is that you are not limited to one type of freight. You can haul almost anything in a refer that you can in a van. The second biggest advantage is that the food supply is effected negatively a lot slower than other consumer items. People have to eat.

The biggest draw back to pulling a refer is the food warehouses. They tend to have a lot more hurry up and wait and offer a lot more BS than other places in general.

All in all though pulling one is not that bad. If you do decide to give it a try make sure the company you work for pays for lumpers and that they also have a good detention pay program.