User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-15-2008, 02:48 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Need Info / advice

Her's my dilema... I have 12 years experience pulling reefer, vans, flats, and even a little bit of tanker. I'm currently driving for a company on a dedicated nightly "linehaul". I make 18.50 an hour with time and half after 40. I average about 50 hrs a week. I like my job and the company I drive for is small (six trucks and eight drivers). The problem follows. My wife and I have just had our first child. Because we are a small company our health care costs are killing me( At least the company offers it). The company pays for half of my monthly premium and I have to pay 100% of the premium for my wife and newborn. Monthly cost of about 900.00. Good friend of mine keeps telling me I should consider going to one of the union ltl companies and run linehaul. My big hang up is for personal reasons I would rather not go to a union company, second of all I'm being a pansy but, I don't want to pull doubles. I have considered going back to running regional if the insurance costs were less.

Are there any ltl companies that cover all our a large portion of insurance without getting into pulling doubles? I,ve heard from different people that doubles aren't bad, but. looking for a little input or guidance.
Old 03-15-2008, 04:40 AM
Senior Board Member

You need to do what is best for your family. Why would you not want to go to a union shop? If you need to pull doubles to do what is best for your family, then stop being a wimp and just do it. What's so bad about doubles anyway? I hear they're easier to turn than a 53 and you don't have to do any backing. All drop and hook.
Old 03-15-2008, 05:05 AM
Senior Board Member

Have you done any shopping around to see what you could get in private health insurance? You or your wife should phone every insurance agent you can find and get some quotes, you never know.
Old 03-15-2008, 05:10 AM