User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-29-2008, 11:05 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default thinking of career change

Hello all. I am considering a career change. For the last 5 years I have been in the mortgage industry as an L/O.....Things were great for a while. Well, now they suck! I have done some general research on this field and have talked to the wife......I think I / we are ready for the change. Being away 2-3-4 weeks at a time is something that we can deal with for the next 1-2 years while I gain exp. and "pay dues".....WITH the main motivation to be an O/O then on to being an Independent w/in 5 years. The only problem I think I will run in to is this:
I have been paying child support for the last 12 years....I pay it thru the state D.S.S...division. For the last 3-4 years I have been paid by commission which means sometimes I go 1-2 months without a paycheck. But while the market was good, and when I did receive check they were always 3-6K and then I paid everything..(FYI last 12 months I have paid over 7k so not a deadbeat dad....)....Well this caused 4 automatic suspensions on my driving record over a 3 year period.......I have talked to D.S.S. and we think we have corrected the problem but the old suspensions are still there. They are not sure if I can have them expunged or not... So I guess I am asking.....will this prevent me from getting hired by a reputable company?........ANY AND ALL COMMENTS ARE WELCOME. :?:
Old 02-29-2008, 11:30 PM
Senior Board Member

Hello jwk,

Welcome to CAD

I am afraid I cant answer this question for you but you can count on other internet peeps to respond however you might want to check more credible sources to be sure. They will want 10 years work history, at least 3 years residence history, a clean criminal and then looking at your MVR they wont want to see alcohol or drug related offences. But they will be looking at all tickets on your record so hope that is your only blemish.

BOL
TW