User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-15-2008, 12:17 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Hello. Some advise please.

First off, hello to all. I have been reading this forum for some time now and most of the forums have been very helpful when some have been rather, disturbing. Anyway here I go and I hope that I do not only get criticized but some helpful advice. I have been a CDL driver for over 15 years. I owned a construction company that was forced out of business. I then made the mistake of driving for the powder blue company from Omaha. What a nightmare. Because I owned my own business no company would verify my driving exp, so I had to start out as a student and do the training program. Stuck with an O/O that didn't want to shower, all he wanted to do was sleep and play on his computer while I did 90% of the driving. He lived in OK and I live in the Buckeye. I never seen my family or home for 3 months. After that was all over I ran Mid west regional then thransfered to dedicated, not a bad gig untill they changed my dispatcher. I was so angry at the industry that I swore I would never be a company driver again. Well I lied to myself. My profession of a Heavy equipment operator is coming to a hault. The company that I work for, one year ago had over 500 employes and now consist of 45, with me being on of them. As we all know the economy has gone to crap and the housing ind, has come to a hault. Driving still has it's hope. Stuff still needs to be moved from point A to B and so on. Thus bringing me to find a job that I have qualifications to do. I need some advice and suggestions. I have hundreds of job offers, but only a few that I would consider. Most are the lease options, some are company positions. Could someone please help me with the pro's and con's of both to help me make my decision. I need to act quickly. Bills are piling up and things are only getting worse. Time for a change and I think that getting back into trucking is m