User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-20-2007, 11:59 PM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default question for newbies

How do you like your new career so far,is it everything you expected?
Think I'll eventually make the leap myself trying to pay some things off first because I know first year or 2 is kinda tough,I'm making around 50,000/year right now as a millwright.
I'm basically sick of the politics working around a lot of people,I've always been a loner and followed construction jobs for about 8 years around the country.
Feel like truck driving is just my thing,plus I'm 44 years old not getting any younger breaking my back in 110 deg. Texas heat in Aug. is getting kinda old too.

Anyway just wanted to know how y'all are liking your new career so far.
Old 12-21-2007, 04:58 AM
Board Regular

I'm still VERY new at it, but I can honestly say that I feel like I've finally found something my heart can hold on to.
There's a freedom in driving that I've never before known. I see things and places that were only real to me from the television, before!
It's still blowing me away, how they'll pay me insane amounts of money--just for dropping things off!! :shock:
You mention making 50G per year now. As a newbie, you'd take quite a pay cut...but it really does grow, with each year of experience you get under your belt. And it does matter which company you go with, as far as pay scale.
I've chosen a dedicated route, so I can't say much about how national dispatchers work, but "politics" are just as much alive in trucking as anywhere else. The good thing is that if you're willing to drive, arrive on time, and get the job done, you can usually "ignore the ignorant."