User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-14-2007, 12:12 AM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Brotherhood of truckers (helping others).

This is a story about one of my runs and how i was helped by a thoughtful fellow trucker. I'm a rookie driver. I was driving a route I had never been to. I was hauling a reefer van. I was driving at night and I passed the major city, and there was no major cities for a couple hundred miles. As I was driving, I missed a shift, and I came to a stop. When i stopped, the engine shutt off. I tried to re-start it but it wouldn't start . I then realized.. I was out of fuel!! There were no other cars around and I was in the middle of nowhere at night. I put on the four-ways and tried to use my cell.

My cell wouldn't work, so i went out and put the warning sings out 30ft behind my truck. I had no flares, so I just used all the warning objects I had. After a few hours, I got on the CB (which I had never used and didn't know how to use it.). I somehow got on the CB, and asked for help. I heard a few drivers talking about my truck, warning others to look out for me stopped in the slow lane. One of the truckers said that he sees my truck, and he told me to come ride along with him and he'll take me to the nearest town so i could get fuel. I got my stuff and walked over to where he was stopped. He gave me a ride to the next town, and I was able to get help. I am so greatful that there are drivers who go out of their way to help others.
I know that if I ever see a car or truck that seems to have broken down, I'll stop and see how I can help them.

Cheers!
thanks guys!
Old 12-14-2007, 12:48 AM

Glad it worked out for you!
Old 12-14-2007, 03:03 AM
Board Regular