User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-10-2007, 08:09 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Non CDL Experience...does it count?

I am going to get a CDL through the local college which will be basically a one-on -one training. I can get a certificate for another $100 and a few extra tests. Is the certificate that valuable in getting work? Also; I have been a driver for over 5 years contracting (independent contractor) with various companies hauling freight local and out of state including 2 years for Fed Ex. I have driven everything I can legally drive without a CDL , mostly 26’ straight trucks or trucks pulling 25’ trailers. Does this experience count when getting work or will companies only count CDL experience?
Old 12-10-2007, 08:13 PM
Senior Board Member

If by CDL work you mean tractor trailer the answer is a big no. It does not count for anything.

If you are talking about driving a straight truck the answer is maybe. In this case it will all depend on the company.
Old 12-11-2007, 02:25 PM
Rookie

Like the other post said it depends. I drive a straight truck for a mail contractor and one of their requirements were you must have 2 years over the road exp. I thought they were blowing smoke about this since it is a straight truck, but we had a guy to put in an application and he was denied because he did not have 2 years experience and he had a CDL-A I heard that the post office and the insurance companies are VERY VERY VERY VERY strict about this policy and it must be enforced because is written in the contract and the contract can be terminated if the driver or drivers do not have the minimum experience. So it all depends on who you ask or want to drive for.
Old 12-11-2007, 02:39 PM
Rookie

Thanks for your comments.