User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-03-2007, 10:30 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Employment History Question.

Hi,

I'm a new driver who has been under contract w/CRST. Well, contracts up now and looking to drive solo somewhere. All the companies that I've looked at require a 10 yr employment history. My first proper, over the table job was in 2004. How much of a handicap do you think this will be in my search? I'd hate to think that I'm doomed to team driving for the foreseeable future, and I'd really like to avoid a lateral move. Thanks.
Old 12-03-2007, 10:40 PM
Administrator
Site Admin
Board Icon

It is the Feds who require carriers and employers to collect a 10 year employment history. Most carriers will at least check the last 3 years. More if something shows up on your history. It isn't that you need to have driven for 10 years but put down a 10 year work history. If you have not been employed during any of that time, you still need to account for the time. For instance, if you were in school during part of that time, then you should show that on the application.
Old 12-03-2007, 10:42 PM
Board Regular

were you self employed, unemployed?

the key is, to be creative. if you were at home for a few years raising the kids, tell them that.
best thing to do is to be honest and thourough in your application, they can and will find out.
fill out the apps, and see where it goes.
i got on with ABF even with some short term jobs, some self employment and almost a tear of unemployment. ABF is very tight on their hiring process, especially since i had no experience and they had to invest thousands in out of state training and lodging.

good luck
Old 12-04-2007, 02:28 AM
Senior Board Member

Companies are only going to verify two things.

Everything you have done in the last 3 years and all driving jobs in the last 10 years.