User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-11-2007, 07:30 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default The usual newbie post

So heres another newbie who's going to present a slew of information, and summerize it with the standard age old question, "Am i doing the right thing?"

Anyway, how i started looking into this is my girlfriend brought up Team driving to me a few months ago, (she was talking to some twice removed relatives who team drives), and told her she was nuts.

Several months later after doing my homework, i find myself making this post. :roll:

Im 33, shes 32, i know my driving record is spotless, and amazingly enough i dont have any spee..... ahhh, ill stop that sentence there less i jinx myself.

I suppose the biggest decider is what your leaving behind vs what you'd be gaining by the career change. I've been working at my current employer for the last 7 years, and am making, and will probably never make anymore then about 13 bucks an hour, theres no where to promote updward, and i guess you could say im "stuck in the truck" in terms with my job, in other words Ive grown very specialized. A lot of my job has been automated. What used to take me 8 hours + OT, now takes me 1 hour, with the rest of it busy working trying to justify my existence.

My girlfriend has been working at the local hospital for the last 6 years as a CNA (or certified ass wiper as she calls it), and she makes a little bit less then i do.

We live in californa, We own no house, we have no kids. Both of us are kind of burnt out on our current line of work. Ultimatly, thats whats driven me to do ALOT of research on trucking. Currently the plan is to put all our stuff into storage, move out of the apartment, into a truck, and bobtail it to a relatives house for those 3-4 days of at home time.