User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-24-2007, 04:17 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default casual short haul, dedicated, or regional?

I'm a newbie to the forum and have a million question, but will only ask a few. I'm looking to getting into possibly driving part time. The catch here is I have an erratic schedule as a firefighter. The schedule is 10 twentyfour hour shifts a month and goes like this: on, off, on, off, on, 4 days off and then the cycle repeats (good gig I know). So my question: Is it possible to get a casual driving job where I'm out on the road for a couple of days during my 4 days off from firefighting? Does short haul, regional, or dedicated fall into this category. I'd be pretty flexible as far as being able to drive weekends. I live in the Sacramento area and was hoping to get something here or over in the SF Bay Area. My DMV record is clean as a whistle. Any input from the folks out there or even the recruiters would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Old 07-24-2007, 05:09 AM
Senior Board Member

With a schedule like that I really do not know who would hire you, especially being an inexperienced driver.

With the Hours of Service regs being what they are you would only be available to drive 2 1/2 days out of every 9, at least according to the federal regs. I know that CA has a different HOS for drivers who stay intrastate, but I do not know the specifics of it.

If there is any real hope for you to do this, your best shot would probably be with the LTL type companies like Yellow, Fed EX, Old Dominion, etc, or maybe with some type of courier service.

Often times these types of jobs are not advertised anywhere and your best bet on finding them is to the office/terminal of these companies and talk to them directly. You can look in the yellow pages to find where most of the companies are located in the local area.
Old 07-24-2007, 05:13 AM
Senior Board Member
Default Re: casual short haul, dedicated, or regional?