User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-22-2007, 12:16 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Jake Brakes/ Slick Roads

I'm a pretty new driver and have a question that I can't seem to get a good answer to. In slick road conditions you don't want to use the jake as it could cause a jack-knife. But, when going down a steep grade you're geared down. Is that not basically producing the same effect as the jake and possibly causing a jack-knife? Thanks.

-Steve
Old 07-22-2007, 12:59 PM
Senior Board Member

When you use the jakes you are basically increasing the braking effect of the engine over that of being in any given gear.

Think of it like the difference between lightly pushing the brake pedal and smashing it to the floor board.
Old 07-22-2007, 01:02 PM
Board Icon
Default Re: Jake Brakes/ Slick Roads

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zteve
I'm a pretty new driver and have a question that I can't seem to get a good answer to. In slick road conditions you don't want to use the jake as it could cause a jack-knife. But, when going down a steep grade you're geared down. Is that not basically producing the same effect as the jake and possibly causing a jack-knife? Thanks.

-Steve
Yes, which is why you need to control your speed also to match the road conditions, and it is also why in the West, they will require chains when going down steep grades in poor road conditions.
Old 07-22-2007, 05:18 PM
Senior Board Member

The problem is that in the eventuality of losing grip to your drive wheels, chances are you might not have the cool head to switch off the jake or lightly pressing the accelerator to cancel the jake...Rather, youll mash the brake since thats the perceived 'default fix-all'.

I usually leave my jake on in all kinds of weather, even bobtailing in rain, but it takes experience to become a smoothe operator enough to be able to do the right thing if you slip. Not that leaving the jake on is a trait of a vet...
Old 07-22-2007, 11:15 PM