User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-16-2007, 03:44 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Laptop riding shotgun (and other GPS questions)?

A couple questions for you computer-savvy truckers out there.

I'm new to the trucking game, about four months in now and I've decided that a good GPS solution would be a great help. Right now I can't afford a standalone system (like Garmin, etc.) but I already have a laptop so I figured I'd go out and buy a GPS program for it, but I have a couple of questions I thought I'd ask you all before I do.

First, my company won't let me install a laptop-mount in the cab (plus the one I've seen at truck stops is like, $300 or so... ouch)-- if I did I'd have to disassemble it every time I get dispatched to a terminal and hide it. When I asked about this they said I can just put the laptop in the passenger seat, but that seems dangerous to me-- dangerous for the laptop, at least. Does anyone here do that, and do you have recommendations for how to best place the laptop in the passenger seat? Is there a product available that makes this easier, or have any of you jury-rigged something to keep it in place? I was thinking there must be a good way to secure it but I can't think of one...

Second, I'm not sure which software to use. Microsoft's Streets and Trips 2007 with GPS is on sale right now for $89, so I was going to go buy it, but I can't find any info on the Microsoft site about whether or not the software can be switched to truck routes (as opposed to four-wheeler only routes). Can it? Or what software would you all recommend?

Any help would be appreciated.

JB
Old 06-16-2007, 04:27 PM
Board Regular

jblaze wrote:

Quote:
Right now I can't afford a standalone system