User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-02-2007, 11:12 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Sleeper space?

I've had some experience with big rigs but not anything with a sleeper attached to it. I stopped off at the local Freightliner dealer today just to look around inside one or two, found some centurys, checked out the sleeper and figure I'd have enough space to keep my computer and clothes bags. Now I noticed that the top bunk foleds up to create space. I feel stupid for not thinking of this, but do the lower bunks fold up too? perhaps for some "trunk" spae underneath? Reason I ask is I want to keep an electric guitar with me and it certainly wouldn't fit into the little fridge-side cubbies. I have a few guitars, the one I would want to take has a fairly large case. I've relegated the decision to taking my strat with me now as it and it's gig bag are much smaller. But is there any space in which I could actually put the thing or is it just gonna be bouncing around the bed? Like would I ust literally tuck it under the covers on the bed or what?

Sorry if this is a dumb post.
Old 05-02-2007, 11:25 PM
Senior Board Member

While it is nice to have the extra headroom with the top bunk up, a lot of drivers keep it down for extra storage space. With some bungie cords or the safety net, alot of stuff can go up there.
Old 05-02-2007, 11:45 PM
Board Regular

Most trucks have some type of storage under the lower bunk. They are usually broken up into compartments, D/S is storage with access from the outside, P/S usually has your heat and a/c unit with a larger area in the center. Your guitar might fit in the center compartment but i would through some good padding under it. If your really worried about it getting beat up, i would leave it under the covers while your driving and maybe stand it up in front of the passengers set when resting.
Old 05-03-2007, 01:53 AM
Rookie