User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-22-2007, 11:23 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Help me develop a plan to become a driver, please.

Let me describe my goal and also where I am in life so that you might be able to recommend steps to help me accomplish my goal.

My goal is to learn how to drive safely and then drive OTR as a company driver until I have sufficient experience to buy my own truck. Is this a good goal?

Now for the second part, let me tell you something about where I am in life. I am a 57 year old man with a military retirement and over 15 years experience pulling Fifth Wheel RVs with my 3/4 ton pickup (for pleasure). 2 and 1/2 years ago I became interested in converting an OTR tractor into an RV toter and so I purchased a 99 Volvo 770 and did just that. I have since pulled my RV with the Volvo for about 25,000 miles over these two plus years. The point is I have limited experience moving 40 foot trailers with a Volvo 770. I have fallen in love with the feeling of piloting (driving) a class 8 truck and trailer (at this scaled down level) and now I think I would like to sell the RV toter and buy a newer (maybe 2006 model Volvo 780 or a Peterbilt 387) and hit the road for a few years as a driver to take me into retirement. Then I would have let my business buy me the truck and I can then convert it to a RV toter for pleasure during the retirement days.

I currently reside in San Antonio, TX but I can relocate anywhere so long as I can better myself.

I believe I would be smart to hire on as a company driver for a short time to ensure that driving OTR is really for me before I go on and sell the 99 Volvo and buy a newer truck. BTW, since I have converted the 99 Volvo I can not use her for OTR. She is a single axle now with a RV hitch and a custom bed on the rear.

What companies should I apply to to get the initial experience?

What CDL school should I then attend? (PTDI?)