User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-05-2007, 06:32 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Saturday!!!

i live in anchorage, ak. and just got my cdl a, i would like to get into local trucking but have one real concern. i go to church on Saturday's and don't believe on working on that day. i know a good amount of trucking in done on weekends. can any one tell me what types of trucking or companies that might not require me to work on saturday's (i know that fact that i'm a rookie is even worse). i've already ruled constrution driving out, i'm pretty sure that extremely difficult. anyway i will really appriciate any help.

,tony
Old 03-05-2007, 02:13 PM
Board Regular

Just check around with the companies in your area. Be honest with them and let them know from the start that you do require being home at least on Sundays. I don't know about the Ak trucking bus. but I have been here almost 3 months and have missed 1 Sunday being home.

Then again, I know you prefer your home Church BUT, if you are on the road, there is nothing wrong with pulling into someplace and finding a local church. You may have to preplan but if you can get the phone number of a church in the area you are going to be in, call them, they can either tell you if there is truck parking in a close proximity, or may come pick you up and take you back to your truck after the service.

You may be surprised by visiting other Churches that you may really enjoy the change of atmosphere! As for working on that day, sometimes we just can't help that, but we can do what we can to try and attend Church, and at the least, find a local service on the radio to listen to.

Don't worry, God will understand that you must make a living in order to pay your Tithes!
Old 03-05-2007, 05:02 PM
Rookie