User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-19-2007, 04:32 PM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Unions - 15 yrs ago did truck drivers have protection?

I'm just starting to do some research here, thanks to seeing an old DVD of Sally Field in the 1979 film NORMA RAE, about union representation of textile workers.

I vaguely remembered that the Teamsters used to represent truck drivers, before Jimmy Hoffa visited the river.

A decent hourly wage, supervised work conditions -- If those were ever real, how were they lost? Can we get them back again?

Everybody on this board can count the bodies.

Yes, I'm a rookie, and duh don't know nuttin.

But lots of us out here are training to build a future. Are the cards stacked against us? Read THIS article:

http://www.personal-injury-michie-ha...accidents1.cfm
Old 02-19-2007, 04:44 PM
Board Regular

no,5% are union.
hoffa jr said we are not in the union so we are the enemy.
most union companies are out of business since reagan deregulated trucking and the mega carriers emerged.
i think we need unions but they need to be more interested in protecting jobs. reagan eliminated a whole myriad of red tape,circuitous routing,interlining,icc,and opened alot of oppurtunities for owner operators and people like moyes and werner
Old 02-19-2007, 05:09 PM
Senior Board Member

Great link. I have found that a lot of these drivers, though not necessarily on this board, are from the South and have an innate dislike for unions. I have looked into and tried hard to understand why but never get a concrete answer.