User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2007, 07:10 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Swift

I'm new to trucking and plan to run team with my wife. We are considering Swift or CRST. What type equipment can we expect?
Who do you recommend to a new driver?
Old 02-13-2007, 08:18 PM
Board Regular

Many companies are running Volvo 780's and Freightliner new centuries nowadays. With Swift you will either get a volvo or a freightliner. CRST probably a freightliner century. You will hear good things about swift and bad things. More bad than good. I don't drive for them so I can't really comment one way or the other. Swift is known to run their drivers pretty hard, but they have good equipment and the pay is always there from what I've been told. Some other companies to look at are: Crete (If you went to a PTDI school), CFI, Maverick (Flatbed), US Xpress, TMC(flatbed), USF Glen More, and Transport America. It is like what one driver has as his signature in here "Deciding on a trucking company is like deciding who to marry". Go to some truck stops talk to some drivers from the companies you are looking at and remember the old saying "One mans garbage is another mans treasure." Best of luck to you both.
Old 02-15-2007, 10:09 PM

I'm in my training with my mentor right now with Swift, and so far it is going well. Their school set me up very well and got me started into this field. I would recommend it to a new driver. Best of luck.
Old 02-15-2007, 11:01 PM
Rookie
Default Re: Swift

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim89048
We are considering Swift or CRST. What type equipment can we expect?