User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-07-2007, 08:26 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Opinions Please

Hello Everyone-

I am new to this post but have been lurking around the forums for months. I have been seriously considering this profession. I am not going to ask alot of the conventional newbie questions, just want some insight on starting out.

I have basically grown tired of corporate management and in essence
"dealing with people". Anyone who has been in management will know what I mean. I have talked to my family for months, my wife and daughter, and they are supportive and understand the sacrifices. I have some money behind me to support myself and family while I make a change.

It seems to me in applying for company sponsored CDL training there is alot of playing around with prospects. CR England basically sent me an email, never contacted me or ask one question, saying come join next week's training. This sent a red flag to me that I will avoid their company at all cost.

Swift sent a mass email to me and about twenty other prospect with an application and no greetings, instructions, or information attached. I find that to be extremely lazy of them and will pass on Swift as well.

Another basically said that if I quit my job now, they may be able to take me in a week or two, but may not too. (I want to give my current employer proper notice so this was not an option).

I am seriously considering taking CDL training locally and then trying my prospects from there if other applications don't look promising or I receive no reply.

I want to be a professional, not a wannabe and I want to be successful. It seems to me that I need to make the right decisions to do that. Seems the recruiters' game is to fill seats in their training class. My goal is to be successful. How best do I do that?
Old 02-07-2007, 08:39 PM
Board Regular
Default Re: Opinions Please

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigDabble
Hello Everyone-