User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-19-2007, 02:32 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Internet Access on the Road?

Newbie here. I know this question may seem trivial compared to others on this forum (and may even be posted in the wrong section) but I've been getting mixed responses to this and I figured the regulars here would know.

I have a laptop computer and am addicted to the Internet for a variety of reasons, not the least of which is the fact I use it to keep in touch with friends and family. On Sunday I head out onto the road for the first time with my driver trainer and won't be back for six weeks. My question is this: how easy is it to stay net-connected on the road? How much money does it cost to do so? Do all truck stops have WiFi, and if so, is it ever free or does it cost some sort of outrageously high amount? Lastly, are there any hints I need to be aware of in order to ensure maximum online time when I'm "on line 1" (very punny, I know)?

Thanks in advance for your help

Blaze
Old 01-19-2007, 02:36 AM
Senior Board Member

Many truck stops have wi-fi. It can be purchased for a day for about $5.00 or a longer period of subscription on a monthly or annual basis.

Alot of us carry "aircards" and have service with companies like Cingular, T-Mobile, etc.

If you do a search of this site with the words wi-fi and aircard you'll get more information than you ever wanted on this subject. 8)

Remember: The "truth WILL set you free"! If it doesn't "set you free"....."it will trap you in the cesspool of your own design".

They lost my original "avatar"....oh well.

Old 01-19-2007, 02:51 AM
Senior Board Member
Location: In my own little world, that rides right behind the cab.

I use the FlyingJ WiFi, 19.95 a month with unlimited time. At some stops it gets kinda cranky but you just look for the antena and park where you can "see" it.
Old 01-19-2007, 03:11 AM