User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-12-2007, 12:47 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Considering entering the trucking industry...

hi. I have a few questions about being a trucker...

1) Are the hours of work really long?

2) Do you guys still get enough time to do hobbies... like drawing or boxing or anything like that? Do you still have time to hangout with your friends?

3) How does a total newb truck driver start up? What kind of job is he likely to get and what is his expected salary (in CDN dollar as I'm in Canada)? Will my starting salary be at least $30k a year?

4) How do I determine a good trucking school? How many hours is a newb like me supposed to train in the truck? How many hours is spent in the classroom and how many hours is spent behind the wheel?

5) Is there really a massive shortage of truck drivers? Is it true that most of them are 55 years old and soon to retire? Will I have difficulty getting a job?

Thanks.
Old 01-12-2007, 01:10 PM

OK the 1st thing to remember is that truck driving, especially Over The Road, OTR is not a job or a career...its a lifestyle. Since its one of the only few jobs where you sleep and work in the same place.

Being as though your single, its much easier.

1. Yes the hours can really be that long. Legally your allowed to do 70 hours in 6 days, now your only allowed 11 per day driving and 14 total(includes driving, unloading, fueling, etc.

2. This is how I know your not married It all depends on the job. If you found a daytime local driving job, its possible to be home every day and weekends too, it goes up from there. To home weekends and maybe 1 or 2 times during the week, to weekends only, to home every 2 weeks. So yes there is hometime. If you live in an area where there are a lot of day driving jobs, then your life may never change, and then you would feel more like its a job.