User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-03-2007, 03:43 AM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default No "OTR" Experience

I need some advice. I have been driving local for a couple of years (Heavy Wrecker) and I'm moving to Greensboro NC in the next month. When I get up there, I would like to run regional with someone. I am looking at TMC (I don't mind flatbed) and a couple of other companies. My issue is that because I went to school so long ago and have no OTR time, most companies I've talked to kinda give me the cold shoulder. I don't want to go with anyone of the "Top 5" List (of places to stay away from lol). Who should I be contacting?

One catch, I would like to spend as little time with a trainer as possible (read ideal=0). I can deal with a couple of weeks if need be but I wouldn't be happy about it :sad:
Old 01-03-2007, 03:52 AM
Senior Board Member

Good luck. Without those three little letters, OTR, most companies are going to want you to go through school and full training again. You might try to check around and see if you can get on with some of the refresher training some companies offer.

Old 01-03-2007, 05:30 AM
Senior Board Member

I never understood this. My theory is that is by using a narrow definition of experience they try to keep wages depressed.

I have to hit more tight docks in a day of P&D than some OTRers will see in a month.

Using the criteria of most OTR companies a Million Mile LTL driver that has gone over Donner Pass twice a night for years is equal to someone with the ink still drying on his CDL.

Try and find a smaller company or an O/O who has a more realistic definition of experience.

The guy who trained me at Con-Way drove grain trucks on his family farm in WA decades ago. He and his wife got their CDLs and were able to make good money teaming for an O/O on a % of the load basis.
Old 01-03-2007, 05:36 AM
Senior Board Member