User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-02-2007, 11:45 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default ANY ADVICE ON WORKING FOR SWIFT?

I AM A ROOKIE AND PLAN ON GOING TO WORK FOR SWIFT. CAN ANY BODY GIVE ME SOME ADVICE?
Old 01-02-2007, 11:47 PM
Senior Board Member

Check out other alternatives first!!
Old 01-02-2007, 11:55 PM
Senior Board Member

Do you have your CDl already ?
Old 01-03-2007, 12:09 AM
Board Regular

Keep your nose clean for a year, and move on if you like.
Old 01-03-2007, 03:07 AM
Board Regular

Lately, I've talked to alot of drivers from swift and most are happy there. Despite the low starting pay (which they made a huge improvement in) they are getting the miles and making money. Many on this board are complaining about not getting miles, but brag of the CPM they get. High CPM with low runs doesn't pay the bills. Each company has good and bad points so don't judge a company on CPM alone. Run with them for a year and if you're happy stick around. After the first year if you feel like running for greener pastures at least you have your CDL and a year under your belt on the road. Despite what the naysayers have to offer, there's nothing wrong with using Swift to get your CDL and learn the ropes. If you aren't lazy, and want to run, Swift will keep you moving. Good Luck!
Old 01-03-2007, 03:56 AM
Senior Board Member

NevadaJim;

I think that there is a lot of truth to what you are saying. There is no perfect company, and there is no perfect driving job. I HAVE heard that since the departure of Jerry Moyes, things have improved considerably at Swift.

Still, I would suggest checking out other alternatives as well!!
Old 01-03-2007, 03:59 AM
Board Regular