User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-18-2006, 08:33 PM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Screwed the Pooch?

Ok guys, I need some real honest advice.....the good...the bad, and yes even the ugly.

Here's my mistakes. I'm not going to pull any punches and I don't expect anyone that responds to pull any either.

I am 50 years old and I have had a total of three driving jobs in the last 18 months. I worked for no one more than 30 days. I can drive, and I enjoy driving, but the time away from home puts a real heartache on my family. If I'm ever going to drive, they (and me) will have to get over this.

Here are the companies I have worked for and the reasons I left.

1) CR England. (11/02/06 thru 12/01/06)

I was a trainee due to my lack of experience. England put me and another trainee in a truck with a trainer that was only 24 years old. (That makes THREE) It was crazy. I left after the trainer and the other trainee began to sample the night life in the local truck stops.

Don't get me wrong, I'll drink a beer when I'm home and definitely don't mind a little window shopping. But not on the road, no alcohol and I plan on staying married. I stuck this out for a month and then notified my training coordinator that the OTR was not working for me. I got off the truck when it was in my home state.

That was mistake number one. Maybe I should have asked for another trainer, but considering England has to put two trainees in a truck, chances my next trainer will be no better.

2) Swift (June 06 thru July 06)

Considering all the negative comments about swift, surprisingly this was my best experience. I left only because of a family medical emergency.

3) USA Truck. (July 2005 thru August 2005)