User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-23-2006, 12:20 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Right turns at night...

Hello everyone! I am still a fairly new driver and I still find right turns at night challenging to say the least. I find it very difficult to see if I am clearing the curb, poles, signs, etc. in the mirror. I know this will get easier with experience but I was wondering if anyone here could offer some advice on this. Knock-on-wood, I have never hit any curbs or anything else but I'd like to just feel a little more comfortable with this task of right turns at night. Thanks for any advice given!!
Old 11-23-2006, 01:13 PM
Administrator
Site Admin
Board Icon

It will become easier with experience. Try to keep an eye on your lights on the side of your trailer. They can help you to know exactly where you are.
Old 11-23-2006, 03:10 PM
Senior Board Member

The number 1 piece of advice I have for you is to keep your window (inside and out) and mirror clean.

While I was driving I would clean the outside of both windows and the mirrors everyday within an hour of sundown, and the inside of the passenger side daily. The inside of the windshield and drivers side window would get cleaned everyother day or so.

The number 2 piece of advice is, use what you have. In the real world use what room you have to try to make sure you do not hit anything.

Number 3: Always use your turn signals. The extra light can give you a lot information once you get used to it.
Old 11-23-2006, 03:27 PM
Senior Board Member

My advice is the same as GMAN and Uturn also if you go deep before you start your turn, a proper set-up before the turn and stay to the left of the lane you just turned onto will usually keep you off the curb if distance permits, tandems not spread out etc, etc. Sometimes you just cant miss that curb.
Old 11-23-2006, 03:33 PM
Senior Board Member

GMAN and Uturn are right.