User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-30-2006, 09:33 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Older Driver...Needs a New Start

I'm 45 years old and I'm looking to start driving again..I have over 3 years of driving over the road experience
But my experience is more than 10 years old of Driving over the road...I still have my Class A Driver Lic's
with "T" endorsment,with update Health Card..I Kept my CDL's up to date,Because,I knew when my kids
Got grown?..I would want to start driving again..Well,"they are grown"(ha..ha)...and I also kept my CDL's
up to date?Because,I have a good friend that owns a construction business? That I help from time to time
To move his heavy equipment (dozer, backhoe, etc...)on a lowboy, around town......I don't have any problem
Driving a Tractor Trailer, or even Backing into tight places, or even Heavy Traffic does not bother me... But, log Books and the Federal Regulation?s, I would like to Brush up on....Maybe some type of refresher Class? any suggestions?
Old 09-30-2006, 09:45 PM
Administrator
Site Admin
Board Icon

What is a guy from Tennessee doing with Alabama? :wink: Where do you live in Tennessee? If you have kept your CDL current for the last 3 years, you may find a owner operator or small carrier who will help you get back in the saddle again. Insurance is the thing most need to over come. They check your MVR to see how long you have held your CDL. If you feel the need to brush up, you may consider taking a course at a local state vocational school, such as Chattanooga State, if you live nearby. It will cost much less than the private schools.
Old 10-01-2006, 01:18 AM
Senior Board Member

TMC often asks that drivers attend a "refresher" cdl course available at most cdl schools and some universities. Also you are by NO means "old"!!!
TMC (a flatbed company I work for) hires people your (our) age all the time. If you have any questions feel free to PM or email me anytime.

Good luck driver,
Fred