User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-28-2006, 09:32 PM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Pulling refers

Hello all, was just hoping to find some first hand information.

I've been driving for 5 years, but recently had to leave a job because I moved to Arizona (well out of my former employers area of operations.) So, I have been looking around trying to find a new carrier to sign on with. I'm not a big fan of large carriers, so I guess that limits me a bit. Anyhow, the best offer I have gotten so far is from a small refirgerated company. Trouble is, I've never pulled a refer before. Learning how to deal with a refer unit doesn't seem to hard at face value. But, the company I am considering does a lot of produce work. I have no idea what is involved in hauling "garbage." So I was hoping for some first hand info, maybe some tips or pointers. Any help would be appreciated. I have no doubt I can do the job. But any info I can get will bring me up to speed that much quicker. Thank you in advance.
Old 09-29-2006, 03:28 AM

Keep fuel in the tank. Don't freeze the load, don't let the load freeze, don't melt the ice cream. Refers cool and heat.
Pre cool the trailer before loading, but don't run the refer with the doors open.
You will be going to warehouses, markets, fields and farms to load.
Unloading is where the trouble shows up, lumpers and unload fees. Some places require "blue pallets", that means re stacking the whole load.
Be sure you understand what the company "policies" are for load/unload fees. The company has to be watched on this. I've seen guns drawn over a truckload of watermelons. :shock:

Learn how to "jump" the truck batteries, when the alternator goes south.
Old 09-29-2006, 06:23 AM

Good advice so far. But I have a few questions

1. As far as precooling goes, on refrigerated loads how does one know what temperature to preset at, and how long does it take for a closed trailer to reach temperature?