User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-17-2006, 02:53 PM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Hi, I'm new; Looking for answers from SWIFT/CR-Eng drivers

Alright. Hello all, I'm male 22, and a cop by trade. Obviously I came here to learn about trucking, and the 'real' story about it, not just what's on a recruiter's website. I'm from GA, and live there now. I am currently not working in LE, having just resigned in June. I've been trying to get back in elsewhere, but it's slow going. So, why am I here.

Regardless of where I live I have roughly 800-900 dollars in bills that I 'have' to pay each month or face creditors. The job I had paid gross a grand every two weeks. This did not include off duty/overtime jobs. I wasn't making 'a lot' but I was making enough to comfortably pay my bills. Fast forward today, and I'm barely making 850 a month. Obviously I need a better job. I'm single and have no dependents to pay for.

I have no trucking experience, and no CDL. I would obviously need to go to school first. I've only seriously started looking last week, but so far the only two companies really seemingly interested in me are SWIFT and CR-England. I have one ticket (6-points)on my record, and one wreck. Considering the job I did; that's 'normal' for cop work, but obviously a big turn off for trucking companies.

I know 'how' to drive a stick, but never out of a parking lot and I'm sure it's a tad different with a truck. Other than that I'm completely foreign to trucks.

I do apologize for the long post, but now for the questions.