User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-16-2006, 03:52 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Companies that dispatch trainer/trainees like teams

I'm about to get back into trucking, having done it in the late eighties. Back then, I was a trainer and, after the newbie was safe and competent, we were dispatched like a team. I really liked that because I was paid for all the miles the trainee drove as well as my own. I'd like to find a similar situation, but it seems that most companies have their trainers do limited or zero driving. Can anyone tell me of a company that lets their trainer/trainees run?

Also, I am interested in a company that pays a percentage of the revenue rather than cents per mile, so that I am adequately compensated for running northeastern freight. Seems that Prime is one of the few that does this and hires newbies, but I've seen so many bad things on this forum about Prime that I'm afraid to hire on with them. Also, their health plan costs the most in the industry.

I'd like to hire on with one company and stay there until I retire. I want to stay out; getting by the house is not an issue for me at all.

This is a great site and I'm thrilled that I found it. Any help from a trainer who has the kind of situation that I've described would be appreciated.
Old 09-16-2006, 04:07 PM
Board Regular

You must be a really great instructor... Training someone while you are sleep in the bunk :shock: Now that takes skills...
Old 09-16-2006, 04:53 PM
Senior Board Member

Well if you have not driven for something like 10-15 years you are a newbie again yourself and will be going through the entire process of school, OTJ training etc.
Old 09-16-2006, 09:16 PM
Senior Board Member