User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-19-2006, 12:59 PM
Senior Board Member
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default A leaving question

For the rest of you who have loved ones on the road, does the goodbye ever get easier? I love it when he's here, and do ok to pretty good when he's gone, but the departure and the first several hours after that are still very HARD. The kids bounce back pretty quickly (7,3,1)but I seem to spend the first day hit pretty hard.
My hubby just left for orientation, and he was gone for the 3 weeks of driving school in October, so I'm fairly new at this. We won't have easy communication this time either, as we can't afford to get cell phones yet :sad: I think thats what will make this time the worst. He will be in 3 days of orientation and then go to 3 weeks of training with a trainer then ? Nobody knows as of yet whether he will go straight to a solo run, or be able to spend a couple days at home first. After that he'll be out 2 weeks and home 2 days pretty much.
Does it become routine? Hoping it will be a little easier once he has his own truck and we're not sending him off on the bus.
Thanks for letting me vent, and for any suggestions.
Old 11-19-2006, 01:50 PM
Rookie

Keep yourself busy and try to come up with some sort of a treat for yourself when he leaves, even if it's something as simple as a long hot bath after the kids are asleep. That way you'll see something positive about his leaving.

It does get easier to deal with. There are a few things to keep in mind though:

Plan on him being home when you see him walk through the door. He can't control the weather, traffic or dispatchers. Think "He might be home on the 27th" rather than, "He'll be home on the 27th or I'll kill him" and you'll suffer much less disappointment. You said "Pretty much" when discussing his future schedule, so it looks like you've got that one covered already.