User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-29-2011, 10:54 PM
Board Icon
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Tax Advice Mistake

No... I'm sorry to disappoint some... it is not MY mistake. (But, you came here HOPING for a mea culpae, didn't you?)

It's a mistake I've seen a few post here on CAD... and I just read it again posted by an "expert" on TruckersNet... or somewhere.

If you're out for weeks or months at a time... it may not amount to much. But... if you go out and back nearly EVERY week, it could really add up!

It's the "misconception" that you can only deduct 3/4's of the Per Diem amount for the days you leave and return on a RUN. I submit that you should (and can) be deducting the full amount for those days. (at 80% of course... which I don't like and am investigating.)

Before some of you "jump," remember that I always do my research. In fact, I've been doing alot this week as I am doing my taxes (for the last three years) on my week off. But, this is a question (or a claim I had a problem with) for the last 3 years that I have been avoiding filing.

I have thoroughly read and digested IRS Pub 463, 1542 and 17. I analyzed (instead of skipping over) EVERY example they gave to find which one most closely approximated my/our situation. I have concluded that...

WE are able to take the full per diem rate for Transportation Workers (subject to the 80% restriction we are entitled to) for EVERY day that we can show a logsheet (with any time spent on lines 3, 4, or 5) for! [Okay... NOT for line 5!] :lol:

Jen's example shows that gov't employee's are the only ones required to take 3/4 days! [because they often claim the specific rate for the visited area and/or because they work for the GOV't!]

From either Pub 463, 1542, or Pub 17....

Quote:
Travel for days you depart and return.