User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-04-2010, 05:29 AM
Senior Board Member
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default So, why is the sky falling now?

I haven't been on here in a long time. I'm the guy who decided to hang it up and go back to Walmart a couple of years ago. I was going to be a manager. That wasn't working out so well, so I studied all this crap to become a licensed pharmacy technician, only to find it didn't really pay anything. A nice white collar "professional" job earning squat.

So I ran into a buddy of mine who's hauling gas, and happy as hell, and I'm sold. Having 9,000 gallons of gas under my ass has to be less dangerous than standing in the lube pit while some Asian chick drives through the safety chain and tries to take my head off.

I let my hazmat and tanker go a long time ago, which is a nuisance, but not a real problem. I haven't driven a big truck for two years, but I've found at least one company that requires "at least two years of experience driving a tractor-trailer within the past seven years" so I'm not feeling too bad about the "recent experience" thing.

I pulled up my driving record for 11 years, and I don't have anything against me on there. Everything I might have had to worry about has gone off, and it's squeaky clean for 11 years, 9 of which were trucking. Any company ought to be pretty happy to see that, even if I have been on a long vacation.

I'm planning to go trucking again as soon as I get my hazmat settled, so now's the time for me to find out what new horrifying crisis has been brought about by the Obama administration and/or CRASH and/or the DOT.

Is it safe to come out of the woods?
Old 09-04-2010, 12:06 PM
Senior Board Member

I'd say your good to go, but if I were you I'd see about a refresher course. If nothing else get a day behind the wheel and you'll realize just how rusty you've become. BOL
Old 09-04-2010, 12:19 PM
Administrator
Site Admin
Board Icon