User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-26-2008, 11:06 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Driver Respect

Does anyone have it anymore. I thought to myself...No. Now I know, It is all gone. My dad has drove a truck for 23 years. He has drove local for the last 6 years. He recently went back OTR. I myself have drove for 10 years. It has went to $hit since then. What....Do we really not care about each other anymore. He said he was sitting at a dock getting loaded and a truck was pulling in beside him. He said it was tight, so he got out and was helping the guy back up. The guy got out of the truck and told him....Listen old man, I don't need your damn help. I have been driving for 15 years. Now get out of my way. Unlike myself, He said sorry to bother you and got back in his truck. I guess it is all in your raising. If I see anyone having trouble, I give them a hand. From backing in to sliding tandems. There is still a few of us left. And to the ones that don't have it. Maybe one day you will need some help. And won't get it.
Old 10-26-2008, 11:28 PM
Board Icon

Yeah, that's a sad story, man. Your dad didn't deserve that!

But, here's another side of it. No big deal, but a few months ago, I was backing into a slot and tight around the fender. NO way I was even CLOSE to hitting the blindside truck. But, as I came around, I saw a Prime driver (it was his truck) standing outside his door "whirling" his keys on a chain around his fingers.... just watching me.... guarding his truck!

IF I'd been too far over, the idiot could have been crushed! And he SURE wasn't up where I could see him OFFERING any help if I needed it! :roll2:

I just laughed, but part of me wanted to tell him that I've been doing this long enough that he didn't have to worry about me hitting his truck! :moon: