User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-17-2008, 04:29 AM
Senior Board Member
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Auto pilot

I have been doing a dedicated for a couple of months now and I have noticed that this is a real problem. I use to hear that you can go into auto pilot mode and become complacent doing the same route over and over, but I didn't believe it before when I was OTR. But now I have to be creative to constantly be ready for changes. Also I think that it takes more energy to see the same thing over and over than when everything is kinda new. I don't know. Just wanted to get input on how others handle this.
Old 10-17-2008, 12:37 PM
Silly Goose
Senior Board Member

hey, nice to hear from you again. how have you been?

"Remember, if you don't do it this year, you'll be one year older when you do." - Warren Miller
Old 10-17-2008, 01:42 PM
Senior Board Member

Where is your dedicated run?

Husband did a dedicated too from Seatac,WA to Denver,CO till the changed the route to include Dallas,TX....

Is your run regional, local, or cross country? He was a trainer so every few weeks the new guy spiced it up for him otherwise Yeah it would have been so routine that mind numbness takes affect.

Depending on where your run it, the upcoming weather is sure to mix your route up or at least keep you guessing....
Old 10-17-2008, 11:52 PM
Board Icon
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)

Dedicated, huh? Have you ever had the experience...

At home, you know where everything is, so you don't bother to turn the lights to walk to the kitchen to raid the frig? Then, someone leaves a box of something, or something else on the floor, right along your route? And, if you had had your eyes open, instead of closed, you would have seen it in the night-light, your toes would feel much better and you would not be hopping around on one foot?