User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-11-2008, 01:13 AM
Board Regular
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Its around the corner, need pointers! ( WINTER)

I'm still new to this OTR deal but this will be my first winter and I could really use some good pointers and things to go with with winter driving.
Old 09-11-2008, 01:53 AM
Senior Board Member

If you don't know how to chain up, then learn.
If you hit snow and ice, take it easy. A late load is always better than one that's destroyed.
If your wipers ice up, don't be too much of a lazy ass to stop the truck and clean them off.
Don't try being like Rick Yemm on that Ice Road Truckers show. That's a sure fire ticket to failure.
Lot lizards still work in the Winter. Don't be fooled simply because they wear a jacket and sweats.
Don't eat yellow snow.
Old 09-11-2008, 03:21 AM
Board Icon
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)

Main thing is to go slow, and don't grip the steering wheel too tight, relax. You will "feel" slipping more with a light grip. You will have to just get out there and do it, to begin building some confidence. That actually is a plus for you. Beginners tend to go real easy, and seem more likely to remain in control. Drivers like me, who have been doing ice and snow for years, tend to go too fast, and our over-confidence can get us into trouble. Don't try to follow a more experienced driver! Drive at the pace you feel comfortable with.

Chains are for the steeper grades. You won't see the need for chains, unless you get into the mountains, west of the Mississippi. Outside of that, if you need chains, what you maybe need most is to park and wait for the Salt Trucks and Plows to fix up the road. Most of the time, they keep the roads in good shape.
Find out what your companies policy is on chaining. With chains, you are not going to go over 30-35mph max. It's good to learn how to chain, but try to avoid conditions that are going to put you in that position, if possible.