User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-25-2008, 05:18 PM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default New Forum Member

Howdy!

Thought I'd introduce myself here, I'm Dave. The name says DaveFromColorado, but I'm actually located in MN (southwest of Minneapolis, in the metro area)

I just got my class A a couple weeks ago, but that's it, just the class A - no real instruction. I'm planning on going to school for Heavy Equipment Mechanics Technology, starting in the fall of '09. I've been an auto mechanic for years, but I'm getting tired of the same garbage coming in for water pumps, intake gaskets, and ball joints. It's low pay, unappreciated work. if I'm gonna be unappreciated, I'd rather be earning better money doing it.

Since learning that school for me wouldn't start until '09, I've decided that I'm going to get the "full instruction" for truck driver training, so I'll have a full skill set, and maybe even some road time, so when I do go to school for mechanics, I'll have a leg-up over the other students. I've talked to LOTS of people, and have found that most new mechanics have no OTR, or real driving experience - I'm looking to give myself an advantage over the other mechanics.