User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-31-2007, 05:31 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default help with a GPS

I am looking for a GPS system for my husband. Has anyone had any luck with any?
Old 03-31-2007, 10:43 PM
Senior Board Member

I use CoPilot on my laptop and love it. I back it up with Microsoft Streets & Trips 2007 and the Rand-McNally motor carriers road atlas. As for a standalone unit, I have no idea. Myself, I wouldn't want one of them with a tiny screen.
Old 04-01-2007, 12:14 AM

I am a new driver. I just bought the Garmen C550. The little sucker is magic! Its only about the size of my fist. But, I can't believe all the things it can do. It even has an MP3 player and bluetooth for hands free cell phone use.

My trainer used it while I drove. He's got an older version of MS Streets and Trips. He was impressed.

One advantage a computer program has over a stand alone is the ability to view your entire route on the screen. With the Garmen you can only look at segments at a time. The Garmen C550 also costs over $500.
Old 04-01-2007, 01:44 AM
Rookie

thanks for the replies. he is computer illiterate. i am checking on the stand alones.
Old 04-01-2007, 01:43 PM
Board Icon
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)

I am also using my laptop, with Earthmate GPS and Delorme Street Atlas. I love the larger view.

I am thinking of going to PC Miler for Trucker specific routing, and Sprint is offering it through the broadband card, so I can continue using my laptop. I will check into this more when I get home.
I thought about the little dash units...but I have become spoiled.

Anyway...the Sprint's PC Miler for Truckers...is offered on the cell phone too. That seems handy...if you are also willing to put up with smaller screening.
You can have it all on your phone now days!

If you get in a crash...you can even watch yourself on the News with TV viewing on your phone too. :lol: