User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-10-2006, 04:58 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default GPS for the Truck

I work in TMC dispatch and since my background is in technology and telecommunications I've been given the chance to present the case for including GPS units in our trucks. So pretty much my first stop is here to get some advice from the guys out there on the road themselves.

For those of you who have a GPS in your truck:

What GPS brand and model do you use?

Did you Our of Route drop when you got the GPS? How much?

Does your GPS assure you truck legal routes or must you still check against an atlas to verify the routing is truck legal?

Does your GPS offer traffic, weather and or construction maps? Have they helped you better plan your trips?

If you don't have a GPS system: Why don't you have a GPS? Do you think it would help make you more productive in the road if the GPS came standard with the truck?

Any help is much appreciated and if TMC adopts fleet wide GPS systems someday it might be thanks to you!

You can answer here or private message me your answers. Any other comment is most welcome.
Old 11-10-2006, 05:29 AM
Senior Board Member

Tony,

There have been many GPS Topics. Do a search on: GPS, Co Pilot, Microsoft Streets and Trips among others. I am using Microsoft S&T. I not driving yet, so I haven't really put it to the test yet.
Old 11-10-2006, 08:19 AM
Senior Board Member

I've made numerous posts about using a GPS system in the truck, but I'll answer the questions here also - do a search for posts made by me, or as the previous poster said with the keywords he mentioned.

Quote:
What GPS brand and model do you use?
CoPilot 9 Truck Laptop and Microsoft Streets & Trips 2007

Quote:
Did you Our of Route drop when you got the GPS? How much?
I can't give any exact numbers on this. I've had times, however, when the GPS showed SHORTER miles than the routing provided by the company.

Quote: