User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-25-2006, 12:54 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default I'm making a trucking movie :-D

Hello everyone.

I am a student studying film in Chicago and I am writing a script for a screenwriting class. You might be wondering what this all has to do with you, but I am writing a script about a truck driver.

Has anyone here in the Midwest ever heard of a magazine called '18 Wheel Singles'? Well, it's a magazine full of truck driver personals. Convict personals, too. Anyways, I was going to write a story about what would happen if a truck driver starting a relationship with one of these convicts and they go on a adventure filled, passion laden, quest across America full of destruction.

As such, I was wondering if I could get some ideas on what the life of an average truck driver it. For example, how do you get mail? Do you have to be at home everytime it comes? How are the sleeping arrangments? Are those little compartments above the driver station comfortable or do you usually try to find a hotel.

What's an average morning preparation routine like? How do you handle inventory of all the stuff that you're hauling? Have you ever run into a um...a driver whom you later found out had been dead for 10 years? Like it was a ghost. Like Large Marge for you PeeWee fans.

Are there any races between other truckers ever? Do many of you have pets on board? Do you name your trucks?

Feel free to give me any kind of feedback you want to. I want to know anything and everything you have to offer. Forgive my ignorance in some of these questions, but I really want to write a really fun movie that even truck drivers themselves can appreciate.

Also, please feel free to offer me any stories you can think of that involve strange relationships you have been in which have been made on the road. Or with convicts.

Thanks again for your help. I really appreaciate any help you can give.
Old 10-25-2006, 02:52 AM