Hey all
I was asking around trying to find out the best way to find loads and someone told he about this new company called Freight connections. This site seems to be connecting us with shippers directly, based on where we are they match us with them. Seems Pretty cool do you all think it will work or have you ever tried anything like this? Im a new trucker so im always looking for tips from the Vetrans. The link is FreightConnections
This link: http://truckdriversparadise.wordpress.com/ will take you to my site with
-Good / Bad Trainer
-Carrier Information (Excel Only)
-Job Hots Search file (Excel and Web Page)
-as well as links to pictures for you to look at.
I got into a discussion with freightconnectiions on facebook. I was trying to push for some more information. All I got was more of their party line about no fees will be charged whatsoever, but they also keep bringing up - not while in beta version. I asked them if they don't charge money how do they pay their bills. I sure would like to know more things about them before I would even sign up.
This link: http://truckdriversparadise.wordpress.com/ will take you to my site with
-Good / Bad Trainer
-Carrier Information (Excel Only)
-Job Hots Search file (Excel and Web Page)
-as well as links to pictures for you to look at.
Hey dle, all I got so far was a confirmation e-mail from signing up.
I posted in this thread as well as the O/O one since it seems to relate well to this topic.
I also just looked up your convo on facebook. I think you should go about it by asking somebody at freightconnections that is there to answer questions. They tell you to direct questions to info@freightconnections.com, which is where I got some questions answered. I asked them about payment outside of "beta", they said they will never charge any markups or fees ever. However, it is not to hard to imagine that eventually a subscription may be added since that is common throughout these load boards.
I also signed up for their updates and stuff on their site, it goes right to your e-mail. The chairman of the company just released a statement, he is a 31-year veteran of the industry so that makes me feel a little more confident about them.
We will have to wait and see. I'm still a doubter. When I read the note, the first thing that popped into mind was - Just like Amway only better. Funny thing about those 'only better's" are no longer here, Amway still is.
This link: http://truckdriversparadise.wordpress.com/ will take you to my site with
-Good / Bad Trainer
-Carrier Information (Excel Only)
-Job Hots Search file (Excel and Web Page)
-as well as links to pictures for you to look at.
Amway has been around for several decades. They have their critics. The competitions have used a lot of catch phrases but the most common has been, oh we are just like amway but only better. Implying that the person asking doesn't have to do this or do that or some process they do makes them better - cheaper, better products, we cut out these people so you make more money, etc etc etc. Those companies that have used that line have gone out of business. Either because of financial or legal reasons (mostly legal).
OK now lets change the names. My appologies to CH Robinson, they have a big enough name that most people will instantly recognize.
Let's change Amway to CH Robinson, They have been in business for several decades and they have their critcs as well.
Let's change the upstart companies to FreightConnections. Oh we are better than brokerages, we have the experience as being a brokerage, we have a new way we won't charge a dime for our services. I haven't been able to find out enough information to find out if they indeed have a brokerage or not. Have you been able to find out where they are located? Have you been able to find a way to contact them - other than by e-mail?
There have been a number of companies (several actually) that have been selling the service of being a dispatch service only. They do charge for their services. Idle rambling sorry.
This link: http://truckdriversparadise.wordpress.com/ will take you to my site with
-Good / Bad Trainer
-Carrier Information (Excel Only)
-Job Hots Search file (Excel and Web Page)
-as well as links to pictures for you to look at.
No worries about "rambling", you helped me understand what you meant.
I have not contacted them outside of a few generic e-mails, but if you search the company on linkedin the president and co-founder has his mobile number posted. I'm guessing he would be willing to answer questions or whatever.
This link: http://truckdriversparadise.wordpress.com/ will take you to my site with
-Good / Bad Trainer
-Carrier Information (Excel Only)
-Job Hots Search file (Excel and Web Page)
-as well as links to pictures for you to look at.
The service isn't available yet, it should be in a few weeks though. They just have a landing page now where I signed up to be a beta user. That's why I don't have more info about them for you yet.
Hey dle, figured I should follow up on the thread as well. I know I already told you, but there were some others viewing the thread as well.
The service is available now. The site itself is really nice and you don't need to be "techy" to use it (which is good for yours truly). Site is free as was promised. One problem though, they are very young still, so suitable loads are few and far between, but more seem to be coming in almost everyday. I haven't moved anything on the site yet, but I check in pretty often to see how many new shipments there are, and also the upgrades/changes that have been made since they are in "beta".
This link: http://truckdriversparadise.wordpress.com/ will take you to my site with
-Good / Bad Trainer
-Carrier Information (Excel Only)
-Job Hots Search file (Excel and Web Page)
-as well as links to pictures for you to look at.
Sounds like a 3rd party, even if they say they are not. They are the middle-man between trucks and loads, I would put money on it that they collect a "fee" of some sort same a broker. Not sure though, I'm keeping an eye on this too.
The co-founder used to be with Dawes so maybe this is connected with Roadrunner now. Maybe not. Real Time freight started like this and they are connected with Echo Global and Raytrans.