Decker Truck Line Team Earns Honors at State Competition

By: Decker Truck Line

The members of the Decker Team were: Steve Alliger Paton Iowa Dave Bush Farnhamville Iowa; Dean Filmer Lake City Iowa; Josh Filmer Lake City Iowa; Mark Hullerman Mt. Hope Wisconsin; Eric Jensvold Nevada Iowa; Rick Lackner Fort Dodge Iowa; Mark Phillips Pocahontas Iowa; Greg Thede Badger Iowa.

Mark Hullerman was awarded second place in the Five Axle Flatbed Division. Mark is a company driver who has been associated with Decker Truck Line Inc. for six years. Mark Phillips was awarded the second place trophy in the Five Axle Sleeper Berth Division. Mark is an independent contractor who has been associated with Decker for eight years. Greg Thede was awarded the third place trophy in the Five Axle Tanker Division. Greg is an independent contractor who has been associated with Decker for fifteen years. The entire Decker Team earned the trophy for Team Sportsmanship. 

One hundred nine professional truck drivers representing 23 trucking companies participated in the two-day event. There were eight classes of competition: three-axle van; four-axle van; five-axle van; flatbed; tank; sleeper; twin trailers and straight truck. Drivers were tested in four areas: driving skills pretrip inspection; written exam and personal interview.

In order to qualify to participate drivers must have an accident-free record 12 months prior to the event have been employed by the same company for one year prior to the event and have been actively performing duties of a professional truck driver for 12 months prior to the event. The drivers must also process an outstanding attitude and have illustrated a commitment and dedication to safety. 

Additional events were held during the competition for children spouses and invited guests. A driving competition was held for company CEO?s allowing them the experience of driving an 18-wheeler. A driving challenge was also held for spouses in straight trucks. In addition the Iowa State Patrol coordinated a Bike Rodeo for children in kindergarten through eighth grade. 

The Truck Driving Championships is an event that showcases the professionalism that exists among Iowa?s finest drivers. This year marks the 42nd anniversary of this outstanding tradition which is sponsored by the Iowa Motor Truck Association and the Iowa Council of Safety Management. 

About Decker Truck Line Inc. ~~ Decker Truck Line Inc. in business since 1931 is under sole ownership of Don Decker with corporate offices in Fort Dodge Iowa. Additional terminals are located in Davenport Iowa; Mediapolis Iowa; Mason City Iowa; Hammond Indiana; Masury Ohio; Birmingham Alabama; and Hutchins Texas. Decker is a diversified carrier transporting flatbed refrigerated and dry van freight to the 48 contiguous states and seven Canadian provinces.

Call or visit us online today for a better trucking job:

Decker Truck Line

3584 5th Avenue South

Fort Dodge IA 50501


About The Author
Decker Truck Line