User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-29-2006, 09:11 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Need help to decide

Hey out there. I'm wondering if truck driving is for me. Anyone willing to share? What do you see as the biggest challenge of being a truck driver and what is you biggest reward?
Thanks! Nancy
Old 10-30-2006, 07:06 PM
Board Regular

The biggest reward is not working with bitchy women. Although, I'm not sure I've made an improvement because now I'm working with horny men. HA!!!

I was an Accountant and have two degrees; hence, I have plenty of opportunity other than driving a truck. People think I'm insane when they see me and realize that I'm a driver. Obviously, I have a few brains cells and am very attractive. Therefore, they expect me to be doing something other than trucking. I've had a blast.

I did driveaway for 19 months out of the 28 months that I've driven. That is the best place in my opinion for anyone who wants to drive but not have the lifestyle. We stayed in motels and flew back after delivering the trucks to dealerships. Unfortunately, you need at least one year of experience before you can get into that.

I was really fortunate because I was a new driver and I was able to do this. It's very unusual. Our company was hauling Volvos at the time. I had only driven freight for 4 months when I got to go to driveaway. The competitor that took over from our company wants at least one year of experience. I didn't go to the competitor because they wanted me to move back east. I live in the Rocky Mountains and wanted to get home more. I was always in Canada since there weren't many Canadian qualified drivers [you can't have any misdemeanors, felonies or owe back child support to get into Canada]. I enjoyed Canada and it's a totally different experience than the freight drivers have.