User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-22-2009, 10:16 PM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Sherman Bros.?

I got a job offered to me by Sherman Bros. out of Oregon hauling glass out of my area with weekly hometime. I need a job since where I am at right now I spend more time at home than on the road. I have about 5 years OTR experience and flatbed experience I just have never hauled glass on those A-Frame trailers I don't know how easy or difficult they are or glass is? Does anyone have any experience hauling glass? Or running with Sherman Bros.? Or just any info? The pay and hometime are decent I'm pretty sure I'll take it. But any help would be appreciated though.
Old 06-24-2009, 05:26 PM

So I assume no one has any info about these guys? Or any info or experience hauling glass? Just a lot of questions and info about the mega carriers (I'll save you a lot of time and money, they all suck). I'll take no news as good news .
Old 06-24-2009, 09:02 PM
Board Regular

I looked at leasing to them back in the 80's- they were way cheap with their OO's at that time.

Their company trucks aren't the newest or nicest equipment. You will spend a lot of time on I-5, I think it's pretty much lumber south & glass back. You will tarp every load of glass, but they do have fitted tarps. I've hauled glass, both crated & not- it's not that big of a deal, common sense & a bit of instruction should set you up fine. They also haul steel & machinery. I've never really heard any drivers or ex-drivers bitching about them and they have stayed in business for a really long time while lots of others have failed.

What are they offering for pay & bennies?

-Jack Kerouac, "Mexico City Blues"
Old 06-26-2009, 01:50 AM
Senior Board Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1TruckDrivinSunUvAGun View Post