User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-02-2009, 11:28 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Returning to OTR-HELP!

PTL? Western Express? Anybody know if they might be ok for a driver trying to get back into OTR with everyone treating me like Im not experienced? Also, is it possible that Werner might be ok at least for a little while running out of Atlanta? Any other sugestions?
Old 01-03-2009, 02:03 AM
Senior Board Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by brotherphilip View Post
PTL? Western Express? Anybody know if they might be ok for a driver trying to get back into OTR with everyone treating me like Im not experienced? Also, is it possible that Werner might be ok at least for a little while running out of Atlanta? Any other sugestions?
I can not personally help you with your questions. However, if you provide a little background about yourself in regards to experience etc, I am sure you'll get some replies.
Old 01-03-2009, 04:11 AM
Rookie

Well-I got my CDL in 1991 and drove OTR and local for 3 years. Then I drove OTR for a private carrier delivering southwest, midwest, and everywhere east of the Mississippi from '94-'98. I then drove cryogenic liquid for BOC Gases for a year. I really liked pulling a tank but my income got too iffy so I went on a dedicated paper account with Schneider. That lasted about 6 months till my wife got sick and I had to get off the road for a little while. I worked on a local account with Swift shuttling trailers between Al/MS for six months until I got on with Averitt Express. I was with Averitt for 5 years until '05 when I went to work for Mercedes Benz assembly plant. I have been driving PT on weekends and holidays for a driver leasing company so its not like I haven't been in a truck. I know thats a lot of info but thats where Im at now.
Thank you:clap::clap:
Old 01-03-2009, 05:56 AM
Senior Board Member

So you are looking at what, 3+ years since you last had an OTR or Regional driving job?