User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-30-2008, 04:15 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Heartland Express?

Just got invited to go to orientation with Heartland (Carlisle PA terminal).

Seems good. .47 a mile (with hazmat which I have) and supposed safety bonus of an additional .01 but I don't count that (it's gravy lol).

Anyway, I drove team for 3.5 years. This is my first time as solo. A bit nervous but not too bad. :wink: Those tandems and adjusting them will be not pretty for awhile until I get into the hang of it (hubby always did that argh). Backing isn't a worry. I can do that well. It ain't pretty but I can do it. :lol: Actually hubby says I back and maneuver better than him. I don't see that but he says it's true.

Been out of driving since april. Want to go back on the road. I don't know why but I miss the heck out of it. Go figure...I think I've lost some of my self-confidence not being on the road all this time. So...

Please, any of you Heartland drivers - give me the skinny. This company seems to be the best out there of the choices I found for dry van freight, pay and everything considered.

Just have to decide now if I go August 10 or August 13 to orientation.

Thanks!
Old 07-31-2008, 02:06 AM
Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)

Those .47 cpm are dinosaur miles....meaning HHG. So it's more like .42 cpm when you consider 10-12% of your hub miles are freebies.

Heartland is a short/medium-haul operator. You'll probably only average around 2200-2400 mpw with such an outfit...it's shorter trips, more stops, and more waiting around for loads when you empty out. Trucks are stripped-down to the bare minimum.

They don't pay detention, delay-pay, layover, etc...they have this program called "Heartland cares". Not sure what that means but in my 18 years in this biz, I've never heard of a large trucking company giving a rat's a$$ about their drivers. So take it for what it's worth.