User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-11-2006, 12:49 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default UPS Freight -- Are they going to go Union?

No official word yet, but The chosen facility "Indianapolis", has voted to be represented by local 135 Teamsters. Hopefully they will have a respectable contract soon, and the rest of the terminals will fall in line.

I have been working for Overnite/UPS Freight for 13 years, and am anxiously awaiting to see if Indy gets a fair contract.

Any word?
Old 11-11-2006, 12:52 AM
Rookie

I work at ups (package car) Teamsters suck. Hope I can say that and not get blocked
Old 11-12-2006, 11:02 PM
Senior Board Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by san415
I work at ups (package car) Teamsters suck. Hope I can say that and not get blocked
I'm Teamsters and it don't bother me, everyone should have a right to their own opinion. Some trucking message boards will ban you if you talk Union out of the specific threads, but hopefully CAD will never do that.
Old 11-12-2006, 11:45 PM

I'm not a Teamster but if you do some serious reading you'll see that as of right now they're a BIG part of the reason our friends south of the border still have to abide by a 20 mile limit inside the US...

The bigger US companies are already buying up (or own 100%) Mexican trucking companies. (Now why would they possibly be doing that?)

If you think your pay sucks now just watch what happens if they open that border up.

Who do you think they'll be giving those loads to...?

You (at .30mile) or THEIR .15mile (+/-) drivers?

You think (if that border opens up) they'll haul to Chicago, Seattle, Boston, etc. then deadhead back across the border?

Nope...because that's not profitable. And that's the name of the game.

Better be paying attention to what's REALLY going on out there because...it's coming.
Old 11-12-2006, 11:53 PM
Board Icon
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)

Quote:
Originally Posted by san415
I agree
Old 11-13-2006, 12:43 AM
Board Regular