User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-16-2007, 01:08 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Ready When You Are

Recently I just moved to Clinton, Ms..Was working for a friend of mine the last two years hauling for Hormel all over the United States. I ran down south here a lot, and in doing that met a fantastic lady down here, and moved here last week. I have thought about retiring, but would not mind having a run or two every now and then out of the Jackson area to Florida, Texas, La, Arizona, etc. Just enough to satisfy my highway cravings, and maybe help someone out. I am also a Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer, and have a little shop here at the house, so am not starving, but love to get back on the road every now and then.

One thing I will not do is drive junk. I really don't have to. I have paid my dues in that area over 34 years. This last company that I drove for I started driving for that man in 1977, then I moved to Florida for 20 some years, and went back to Iowa a couple years ago. Went right in, he told me to pick out what truck I wanted out of 100 new 2007's. All were Volvo's except about ten Freightliners. I took a Freighliners..I treated the truck as mine. There was no other company truck that even came close to looking like mine, outside and inside. I polished out ever wheel on that truck when I had times I had to wait at Hormel. I ran a 1500 invertor, so while other drivers would sit around the plant gripping about how they thought the company could be better, I was bringing all my wheels out looking better than chrome.