View Poll Results: What would you do if EOBR's were mandatory?
I'm a company driver and would stick it out no matter what. 0 0%
I'm a company driver and would give it a try. 4 33.33%
I'm a company driver and would be out the door A.S.A.P. 1 8.33%
I'm a Owner Operator and would incur the cost to keep my business truckin'. 0 0%
I'm a Owner Operator and would put my truck in my driveway for sale. 0 0%
I'm just getting in to the industry and will welcome the challenge. 2 16.67%
I'm just getting in to the industry and will discontinue my hopes of being a truck driver. 0 0%
I don't give a flyin' hoot if they are mandatory. 5 41.67%
Voters: 12. You may not vote on this poll

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-27-2004, 05:45 PM
Senior Board Member
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default ELECTRONIC ON BOARD RECORDERS

I was wondering what kind of effect these would have on the industry when and if they are mandatory. I know it's going to have a financial impact and safety impact, but I haven't heard a whole lot on what kind of impact on the number of drivers available it could have. There's already a driver shortage and I think if EOBR's were mandatory some drivers might leave the industry or people looking to get in to trucking might turn away when they find out these things are mandatory. Thus creating a even bigger driver shortage. I personally would reassess my position if EOBR's were mandatory. It would mostly depend on what dock time would be recorded as. I currently put all dock time in the sleeper berth except for 15 minutes. If EOBR's put that time as on duty not driving you would lose several hours of drive time a week. If this were the case companies would have to hike driver pay a lot to compensate. Then there's the owner operators which is a another story. What would you do if these were mandatory?
Old 12-27-2004, 06:23 PM
Default Re: ELECTRONIC ON BOARD RECORDERS

Quote:
Originally Posted by TK THE TRUCKER