User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-04-2009, 03:49 PM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default tax writeoffs

hey whats up? i know tax season is a little far away but im wondering how tax writeoffs work, i know you get soo much perday and all but what about everything else. like i am keeping all scale reciepts and all even tho swift reembursts me... gov dont need to know that, i have saved receipts for everything down to the polos i keep in my truck for uniforms and batteries for my flashlights, how about you guys? im thinking im gonna get a good return this year, anyone have any examples? im a company driver with the great company with the blue and gold "S"........ best in class lol

----frank----
Old 08-04-2009, 04:58 PM

Well if you opted out for company per diem then you don't get to write anything off. Unless your a O/O or L/P there is very little you can write off as a company driver, especially if your company reimburses you for most expenses.
Old 08-04-2009, 05:36 PM
Senior Board Member

Very little? Check again.
Old 08-04-2009, 05:50 PM

I said if you opt out for company per diem there is very little to write off, if not then you can write everything off. If your a company driver you can write off meals, tools, showers, logs, maps, accessories, scales, tolls. As a company driver you don't get to write off the same things a O/O gets to since the company provides everything and a per diem everyday. I'm sure you can find a sleazy accountant that will have you writing off that $500 GPS and that new TV but if you get audited then good luck to you, better save those logs and receipts. My accountant said they're pretty strict with company drivers anymore, no different than a regular traveling employee.
Old 08-04-2009, 05:51 PM
Senior Board Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1TruckDrivinSunUvAGun View Post