User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-18-2009, 09:44 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default New driver with experience... HELP!!!

I have a slight problem...
I graduated Roadmaster Drivers School in Jacksonville,FL last year (Feb.2008).
I quickly went to Swift Transportation where I completed all my training (9Weeks!!!), and I had NO problems at all... They sent me to hometime for 9 days (One day each week), I had to call them back on the 9'th day, and ask them if I can come back.. they said "Sure"..."Come pick up your truck"... I thought"Cool" Ive got my own truck,Im doing good... I drove to Ocala terminal from Jacksonville,and when I got there they gave me my own VOLVO truck.. YAY!!! They said the keys were in the ignition and to go drive it around. I walked out to it, and no keys... Turns out that truck was in for maintenence for "Electrical Problems", I walked back in and talked to the driver manager, he gave me my own Freightliner!!! YAY!!! handed me the keys, and went out to it, it had no inner tires on the rear,and it wouldnt even start... I told the driver manager, and they sent me home due to not having a truck at the time... I called them back a few days later, and they had Laid me off due to not enough work coming through the terminal... I was MADDD.... I enjoyed every minute of my training, and was the best time I have ever had in my life... I was OTR and went everywhere...

I have been an Automotive Technician for about a year now since this happened, and I just got laid off from this position... I am looking to get back into truck driving, but I dont know how.... I would rather have something local... but I really dont care as long as I can make some money...

I talked to "Placement", at roadmaster and they are talking to Stevens Transport and Covenant for me to see if they can get me on there... they said these were the only 2 OTR companies hiring out of Florida Right now...

Is this true???