User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2008, 11:46 PM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default management career in trucking

Hey guys. I'm a former OTR driver and I will soon be graduating with my college degree. I love the industry and I am strongly considering going back into it on the management side. I was wondering if any of you knew the best way to go about doing this or which companies have good management trainee programs. I realize this is a forum for drivers, however I don't know where else to go to get the answers I seek. Truckign will always have a special place in my heart and I hope that I can make it a better place for drivers by working in management.
Old 03-03-2008, 04:04 AM
Board Regular

Well the first step in getting into management in a trucking company is selling your soul to the devil!! Just kidding

Swift is the only company I know of that has a management trainee class. A think their is link to it off of the careers section on their main site. www.swifttrans.com
Old 03-03-2008, 04:21 AM
Senior Board Member

I know my company, Cardinal Logistics, has management trainees as we have one right now.

Nice kid, dont know shit about big rigs, but he tries hard and that is not a bad thing.
Old 03-03-2008, 04:53 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by YoungZ.W.
Well the first step in getting into management in a trucking company is selling your soul to the devil!! Just kidding

Swift is the only company I know of that has a management trainee class. A think their is link to it off of the careers section on their main site. www.swifttrans.com
Thanks for the info. However, I don't think I'd want to work at a bottom feeder like Swift. I'd be afraid a company like that would put a mark on you that might keep you from getting hired by other companies later on. I might be wrong about that but I've heard too much bad stuff about Swift to ever wanna work there.
Old 03-03-2008, 06:03 AM
Senior Board Member
Default Re: management career in trucking